Hi there, *|MERGE1|*!Unsubscribe *|EMAIL|* from this listManage subscription

Local 1000 AFM

Local 1000 December 2018 Newsletter


Dear Brothers and Sisters,

This is our regular monthly email newsletter. It includes reminders, member news and important announcements from the Executive Board and the office.

News from the Executive Board


NERFA Report

Local 1000 was out in full force at the recent NERFA conference in Connecticut. Not only did we host a successful Showcase-Free Zone every night during the private showcasing hours, but we had an active table in the exhibit hall, where we signed up a few new members, engaged many musicians about the issues we care about, and talked to venues about our Fair Trade Music Campaign. Thanks to members Tret Fure, Scott Berwick, and John O’Connor for helping coordinate all our efforts there.

We also held our fall membership meeting which included elections for the Executive Board and delegates to the AFM convention in June.


Membership Meeting Report

We had an excellent membership meeting — thanks to all who turned out and participated!

In addition to holding elections (see below for results), we had a lively discussion about the future of our local and struck a new committee to look at staying financially viable in the long term. Please contact us if you’d like to get involved on this committee.

You can read the minutes of the membership meeting here


Election Report

We are pleased to announce Executive Board election results. Aaron Fowler was re-elected as US Vice President, Gary-Paul Hermus was re-elected as Western Rep, and Rosalyn Dennett was elected as our Eastern Rep. Congratulations all, and welcome Rosalyn to the board!


Charlie PilzerThank You Charlie!

With this election, The Executive Board will be bidding farewell to Charlie Pilzer. We’d like to take a moment to thank Charlie for his dedication to the local and for all the expertise he has brought. We know you won’t be far, but we’ll miss you, Charlie!


Welcome Rosalyn Dennett!

We are pleased to welcome Rosalyn Dennett to the Executive Board in the role of Eastern Rep. Rosalyn comes to us as an active touring musician, but also as someone with lots of experience in the music industry. Here’s a short bio:

As Licensing and Outreach Coordinator at the Canadian Federation of Musicians, Rosalyn assists professional artists to make the most of their diverse revenue streams including recording, touring, live performance, sync & licensing, pension, and more. Rosalyn got her start in the international music scene as one of the founding members of the highly acclaimed roots quartet Oh My Darling, with four award-nominated albums, headlining multiple international/European tours, and countless shows across the country. She has earned JUNO, Canadian Folk Music, and Western Canadian Music awards and nominations through her work performing & recording with the talented Ken Whiteley, Donovan Woods, Fred Penner, Kaia Kater, and many more. Her knowledge and experience in the music industry lead her to work for MusicOntario, the Canadian Independent Music Association, Music Canada Live, and Music Canada. She currently serves as Vice President of the Folk Music Ontario Board of Directors, and Eastern Representative of the AFM Local 1000 Board of Directors.




We are working on getting a number of committees up and running as a way of furthering the work of our union. Committee work is a great way to be engaged with your union without having to over-commit yourself. Please get in touch if you are interested in serving on any of these committees:



Fair Trade Music

Sexual Harassment

Financial Sustainability



There will be more information coming soon about what these committees are up to and how you can help!


Folk Alliance International Conference 2019

The Annual Folk Alliance International (FAI) Conference is coming in February!

We are pleased to be able to offer members a $75 discount off registration.

Please contact Local 1000 at together@local1000.org to ask for the discount code.

2019 FAI Conference

February 13-17, 2019

Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel, Montréal, Québec, Canada



Next Membership Meeting

Local 1000 will hold a membership meeting on Wednesday, Feb 13 at 4 pm at the Folk Alliance International Conference. We will also host a Showcase Free Zone and will have a booth in the exhibit hall.

Stay tuned for more info!


New Birthday Bunny

Beginning this month, approximately half of our members will hear a new voice when they receive their annual birthday call, as Tim Van Egmond joins Deborah Van Kleef on the “birthday bunny” team. Tim is a hammered dulcimer player, storyteller and dance caller based in Montague, MA. He performs solo, as half of the duo Yankee Notions, and with the contradance band Swallowtail.

Tim has been a Local 1000 member since 2007. Membership in the Local, he says, “puts me in touch with a big network of colleagues and friends for mutual support, with the opportunity to compare notes and get help with problem-solving.” Thanks, Tim, for volunteering to help your union.


Canadian Corner


P2 Updates

The CFM is now advising Canadian members applying for P2 visas to get their application in at least 60 days before the first engagement.

If you are applying, please make sure you download the latest application, which can be found here:

English: http://www.cfmusicians.org/services/work-permits
French: http://www.cfmusicians.org/services/permis-de-travail

Please contact Canadian VP Kev Corbett or the CFM for more information.


Member News


Do you have a new album coming out? Did you recently receive an award?

If you have exciting news to share with Local 1000 members, we want to know. Submit Your News Here!

Local 1000 Membership Update


New and Reinstated Members

We are excited to welcome the following new and recently reinstated members to Local 1000!

Michael Davidson

Teilhard Frost

Greg Smith

Joan Smith

December Birthdays

Finally, we would like to wish the following members Happy Birthday! If your birthday falls in December and you don’t see it listed below, or if the date is incorrect, please send an email to our Birthday Bunny, Deborah Van Kleef with your birthdate, current phone number and email address.

12/02 Carol Oppenheimer

12/03 Craig Harley

12/03 Jessica Wang

12/03 Nicholas Williams

12/04 Frank Evans

12/05 Lenore Elaine

12/06 Patricia E.D. Belcon

12/06 Nitanju Bolade Casel

12/07 Marcus Browne

12/07 Chris Jones

12/07 Craig Werth

12/10 Reggie Harris

12/10 Dirje Childs

12/10 Alfredo Ortiz

12/11 Matt Turk

12/11 Dong Uk Kim

12/12 Chris Kerba

12/12 Rae Sovereign

12/13 Greg Greenway

12/14 Andy Irwin

12/15 Teresa Gonda

12/19 Claude Methe

12/19 Jason Roe

12/20 Billy Bragg

12/22 Sharon Marshall

12/22 Tania Elizabeth

12/24 Alexandra Bradbury

12/24 Louis Phillip Simao

12/25 Tom Rawson

12/26 Tom Kastle

12/26 Tommy Slothower

12/26 Peter Katz

12/26 Steve Deasy

12/26 Jesse Palidofsky

12/29 Ken Giles

12/29 Daniel Senie

12/30 Sue Barnett

12/31 Billy Kemp

12/31 Laurel Premo

12/31 Faith Senie

In Solidarity,

AFM Local 1000

Local 1000 AFM